Mathematics for Computer Science

6.042 Spring '18 Schedule and Syllabus

                                                       Reading sections
    WEEK 1
    Wed Feb 7  What is a Proof? (First class)             1.1-6              [PS1 out]
    Fri Feb 9  Proof by Contradiction & Cases             1.7-9
    
    WEEK 2
    Mon Feb 12  Propositional Logic                       3.1-3
    Wed Feb 14  Propositional Proof, Normal Forms         3.4-5
    Fri Feb 16  Predicate Formulas                        3.6                [PS1 due]

    WEEK 3
    Mon Feb 19  No Class - President's Day           
    Tue Feb 20  Predicate Logic (Monday Schedule)         3.6
    Wed Feb 21  The Well Ordering Principle               2.1-3 (omit 2.4)
    Thu Feb 22  MIDTERM 1                           50-340 (Walker Memorial) 7:30-9PM
    Fri Feb 23  Sets and Sequences                        4.1-2

    WEEK 4
    Mon Feb 26  Binary Relations                          4.3-5
    Wed Feb 28  Induction                                 5.1-3
    Fri Mar 2   State Machines                            6.1-3              [PS2 due]

    WEEK 5
    Mon Mar 5   Stable Matching                           6.4
    Wed Mar 7   Recursive Data 1                          7.1-3,7.5
						          omit 7.4
    Fri Mar 9   Recursive Data 2                          7.6-7              [PS3 due]

    WEEK 6
    Mon Mar 12  Infinite Cardinality                      8.1-8.1.3
    Wed Mar 14  Diagonal Arguments                        8.1.3-8.1.4
    Thu Mar 15  MIDTERM 2                           50-340 (Walker Memorial) 7:30PM-9PM   
    Fri Mar 16  Russell's Paradox and ZFC                 8.3-4

    WEEK 7
    Mon Mar 19  Digraphs and Scheduling                   10.5
    Wed Mar 21  Directed Walks and Paths                  10.1-4
    Fri Mar 23  Partial Order and equivalence             10.6,10.8-11       [PS4 due]

    WEEK 8      SPRING BREAK

    WEEK 9
    Mon Apr 2   Simple Graphs: Degree and Isomorphism     12.1-4
    Wed Apr 4   Bipartite Matching                        12.5
    Fri Apr 6   Simple Graphs: Coloring                   12.6               [PS5 due]

    WEEK 10
    Mon Apr 9   Connectivity and Trees                    12.7-12
    Wed Apr 11  Number Theory: GCDs                       9.1-4
    Thu Apr 12  MIDTERM 3    (multiple locaitons, see Stellar announcement)  7:30PM-9PM
    Fri Apr 13  Number Theory: Congruences                9.5-9                              

    WEEK 11
    Mon Apr 16  PATRIOT'S DAY
    Wed Apr 18  Number Theory: Euler's Theorem            9.10
    Fri Apr 20  Number Theory: RSA Cryptographic Protocol 9.11-12            [PS6 due]

    WEEK 12
    Mon Apr 23  Sums and Series                           14.1-4
    Wed Apr 25  Asymptotics                               14.7
    Fri Apr 27  Counting with Bijections                  15.1-2             [PS7 due]

    WEEK 13
    Mon Apr 30  Repetitions, Binomial Theorem             15.3-7
    Wed May 2   Pigeonholes, Inclusion-exclusion          15.8-9
    Thu May 3   MIDTERM 4                           50-340 (Walker Memorial)
    Fri May 4   Intro to Discrete Probability             17

    WEEK 14
    Mon May 7   Conditional Probability                   18.1-6
    Wed May 9   Mutual Independence, Confidence           18.7-9
    Fri May 11  Random Variables: Density Functions       19-19.3            [PS8 due]

    WEEK 15
    Mon May 14  Expectation                               19.4-6
    Wed May 16  Variance and Chebyshev Bound              20.1-3
  
  


Creative Commons License
MIT 6.042 class material by Albert R Meyer is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License .
For website issues, contact the

This document last modified Wednesday, 04-Apr-2018 22:43:50 EDT