Mathematics for Computer Science

6.042 Fall '17 Schedule and Syllabus

UNDER CONSTRUCTION Under Construction

                                                   Reading sections
    WEEK 1         
    Wed Sept  6  What is a Proof? (First class)       1.1-6              [PS1 out]
    Fri Sept  8  Proof by Contradiction & Cases       1.7-9
    WEEK 2
    Mon Sept 11  The Well Ordering Principle          2.1-3 (not 2.4)
    Wed Sept 13  Propositional Logic                  3.1-3
    Fri Sept 15  Propositional Proof, Normal Forms    3.4-5              [PS1 due]

    WEEK 3
    Mon Sept 18  Predicate Formulas                   3.6
    Tue Sept 19  MIDTERM 1                                7:30-9PM in Walker Memorial (50-340)
    Wed Sept 20  Predicate Logic                      TBA                [PS2 out]
    Fri Sept 22  Sets & Sequences                     4.1-2          [NO Pset due]

    WEEK 4
    Mon Sept 25  Binary Relations                     4.3-5
    Wed Sept 27  Induction                            5.1-3              [PS3 out]
    Fri Sept 29  STUDENT HOLIDAY

    WEEK 5
    Mon  Oct  2  State Machines                       6.1-3              [PS2 due]
    Wed  Oct  4  Stable Matching                      6.4
    Fri  Oct  6  Recursive Data I                     7.1-4              [PS3 due]

    WEEK 6
    Mon  Oct  9  COLUMBUS DAY
    Wed  Oct 11  Recursive Data II                    7.5-6              [PS4 out] 
    Thu  Oct 12  MIDTERM 2                                 7:30-9PM in Walker Memorial (50-340)
    Fri  Oct 13  Infinite Cardinality                 8.1            [NO Pset due]

    WEEK 7
    Mon  Oct 16  Diagonal Arguments/Set Theory        8.2-4
    Wed  Oct 18  Digraphs & Scheduling                10.5              [PS5 out]
    Fri  Oct 20  Directed Walks & Paths               10.1-4            [PS4 due]

    WEEK 8
    Mon  Oct 23  Partial Order & Equivalence          10.6 & 10.8-11 (not 10.7)
    Wed  Oct 25  Simple Graphs: Degrees & Isomorphism 12.1-4            [PS6 out]
    Fri  Oct 27  Bipartite Matching                   12.5              [PS5 due]

    WEEK 9
    Mon  Oct 30  Simple Graphs: Coloring              12.6
    Tue  Oct 31  MIDTERM 3                                  7:30-9PM in Walker Memorial (50-340)
    Wed  Nov  1  Connectivity & Trees                 12.7-12           [PS6 out]
    Fri  Nov  3  Sums & Series                        14.1-4        [NO Pset due]
                                                      (not 14.5-6)
    WEEK 10
    Mon  Nov  6  Asymptotics                          14.7   
    Wed  Nov  8  Counting with Bijections             15.1-2            [PS7 out]
    Fri  Nov 10  VETERANS DAY

    WEEK 11
    Mon  Nov 13  Repetitions, Binomial Thm            15.3-7            [PS6 due]
    Wed  Nov 15  Pigeonholes, Inclusion-exclusion     15.8-9 (not 15.10)[PS8 out]
    Fri  Nov 17  Intro to Discrete Probability        17                [PS7 due]

    WEEK 12
    Mon Nov  20  Conditional Prob, Independence       18.1-6        
    Wed Nov  22  Mutual Independence, Confidence      18.7-9            [PS8 due]
    Fri Nov  24  Thanksgiving holiday

    WEEK 13
    Mon Nov  27  Random variables: Density Functions  19-19.3            
    Tue Nov  28  MIDTERM 4                                   7:30-9PM in Walker Memorial (50-340)
    Wed Nov  29  Expectation                          19.4-6            [PS9 out]
    Fri Dec   1  Variance & Chebyshev bound           20.1-3        [NO Pset due]     

    WEEK 14
    Mon Dec   4  Sampling & Confidence                20.4-5 (not 20.6)
    Wed Dec   6  Number Theory: GCD's                 9.1-4
    Fri Dec   8  Number Theory: Congruences           9.5-9             [PS9 due]

    WEEK 15
    Mon Dec   11 Number Theory: Euler's Theorem, RSA  9.10-12
    Wed Dec   13 Number Theory: Primes                reading TBA
  


Creative Commons License
MIT 6.042 class material by Albert R Meyer is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License .
For website issues, contact the

This document last modified Monday, 18-Sep-2017 18:20:42 EDT